News & Opportunities

Back to list

2015 Discover Heritage Awards

The biennial AHI Awards are the only UK and Irish awards to recognise all types and sizes of heritage interpretation whether held in museums, historic buildings, visitor centres or any type of outdoor location. Any form of media is suitable including exhibition, print, digital, art or live. An eligible project can be small or large. Whether it is a new leaflet or a million- pound visitor centre (or anything in between), we are looking for projects that best meet their interpretive aims and successfully communicate their key messages to their audiences.

Bill Bevan, AHI Vice-Chair said “The AHI Awards are an exciting opportunity for any venue or organisation, large or small, to be recognised as creating the best interpretation for visitors and communities. To win or be shortlisted in one of the categories will be an international badge of excellence.”

The Awards are open for entry online to AHI members and non-members at until the 30th April. Organisations can enter one of five main  categories:

  • Museums and Historic Properties/Sites, sponsored by Bright 3D.
  • Landscapes, forests, nature reserves, parks and gardens, sponsored by The Way.
  • Visitor / Interpretation Centres, sponsored by Bett Associates.
  • Interpretation for a Target Audience, sponsored by Colour Heroes.
  • Community Projects, sponsored by Canal and River Trust.

Over the summer shortlisted entries will be visited by a pair of AHI site judges, allowing experienced interpreters to mentor those in the early part of their careers. Winners will be announced by AHI patron Loyd Grossman on the night of a gala awards ceremony, held at the AHI conference on the 21st October in Wiltshire. The awards dinner is sponsored by Haley Sharpe Design,

AHI is also looking for nominations to its prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognises an outstanding and lasting contribution to the heritage interpretation profession over a significant period of time.

Nominations can come from any heritage sector as long as the nominee has made a significant contribution to heritage interpretation as a profession.

Visit the Awards pages on the AHI website for criteria, eligibility and the online entry form.

Back to list